2003 REVIEW BOARD MEMBERS

A distinguished group of the country's top educational leaders served as the Review Board for The Broad Prize for Urban Education. The Review Board members examined performance indicators, demographic statistics and other information about the urban school districts that were eligible for the Prize. Based on their examination, the Review Board narrowed the list of over 100 eligible school districts to the five finalists for the Prize.

Russlynn Ali is the executive director of The Education Trust West. Ali previously worked for the Children's Defense Fund, where she served as the President's liaison for the Children's Defense Fund's "The Act to Leave No Child Behind" campaign.

Anne L. Bryant is the executive director of the National School Boards Association, a national federation of state school board associations. Bryant also is an advisory commissioner of the Education Commission of the States and is the chair of the Board of Trustees at Simmons College.

Doug Carnine is a professor of education at the University of Oregon and is director of the National Center to Improve the Tools of Educators.

Rudy Crew is the director of district reform initiatives at the Stupski Foundation. Previously, Crew served as the chancellor of the New York City Public Schools.

Christopher Cross was formerly president and CEO of the Council for Basic Education, and served as an assistant secretary of education under former President Bush. He currently is a senior fellow with the Center on Education Policy.

Charles Desmond is the executive director of the Great Cities' Universities Coalition, a national network of 19 urban universities. He previously served as associate chancellor at the University of Massachussetts.

Sandra Feldman is president of the American Federation of Teachers, an organization that represents one million teachers, school support staff, higher education faculty and staff, health care professionals and state and municipal employees.

Frederick Hess is a resident scholar at the American Enterprise Institute and the author of several books on education reform.

Paul T. Hill is the acting dean and research professor at the University of Washington's Daniel J. Evans School of Public Affairs. He also directs the Center on Reinventing Public Education, and is a visiting fellow at The Hoover Institution.

David Hornbeck was recently appointed president and CEO of the International Youth Foundation. He is a member of the Founding Council at Good Schools Pennsylvania, and is a former superintendent of the School District of Philadelphia.

Tom Houlihan is the executive director of the Council of Chief State School Officers, representing the nation's education chiefs and state education agencies. He previously served as president of the North Carolina Partnership for Excellence and senior educator advisor to former North Carolina Governor James B. Hunt, Jr.

Phyllis Hunter is an education consultant in Houston, Texas, and a literacy consultant to President George W. Bush.

Lisa Graham Keegan is chief executive officer and a founder of the Education Leaders Council, a national organization of reform-minded educators, advocates and policymakers. In 1994 and again in 1998, Keegan was elected as Arizona's state superintendent of public instruction.

Sandy Kress is an attorney and a former member of the Dallas Independent School District board of trustees. He is an education advisor to President George W. Bush.

Kurt M. Landgraf is the president and CEO of the Educational Testing Service. Previously, he held the position of chairman and CEO of the DuPont Pharmaceutical Company.

Wendy Puriefoy is the president of the Public Education Network (PEN), the nation's largest network of community-based school reform organizers. Under her leadership PEN has grown into a national network of local education funds in 31 states and the District of Columbia reaching over 10 million poor and disadvantaged students in urban and rural school districts across America.

Ann Reynolds was the president of the University of Alabama-Birmingham from 1997-2002. Prior to that position she was the former chancellor of The City University of New York for seven years and the former chancellor of The California State University for eight years.

Ted Sanders is president of the Education Commission of the States, an interstate compact that helps state policymakers shape education policies.

Anthony Trujillo is a senior associate at the National Center on Education and the Economy. He was formerly superintendent of public schools in El Paso Ysleta School District in Texas and Marin County and Sweetwater Union High School District in California.

Sara Martinez Tucker is president of the Hispanic Scholarship Fund, the largest Hispanic scholarship-granting organization in the nation.

April 2003