REVIEW BOARD

An elite group of the country's top educational leaders will serve as the Review Board for The Broad Prize for Urban Education. The Review Board members will examine performance indicators, demographic statistics and other information about the urban school districts that are eligible for the Prize. Based on their examination, the Review Board will narrow the list of eligible school districts to a smaller number of districts that will serve as finalists for the Prize.

Anne L. Bryant is executive director of the National School Boards Association, a federation of state and territorial organizations dedicated to advancing education through citizen governance of public schools.

Doug Carnine is a professor of education at the University of Oregon and is director of the National Center to Improve the Tools of Educators.

Ramon Cortines is a former chancellor of the New York City Public Schools and superintendent of Pasadena, San Jose and San Francisco school districts. Cortines was appointed by former Secretary of Education Dick Riley to be a special advisor to the secretary. He focused on urban issues and school improvement. In addition, he served as interim superintendent at the Los Angeles Unified School District.

Rudy Crew is currently the director of district reform initiatives at the Stupski Foundation. Previously, Crew served as the superintendent of the New York City Public Schools.

Christopher Cross was formerly president and chief executive officer of the Council for Basic Education, a national nonprofit organization dedicated to the advocacy of high academic standards for all students in America's public schools. In addition, Cross served as an assistant secretary of education under former President Bush.

Charles Desmond is the Associate Chancellor for School/Community Collaboration at the University of Massachusetts.

Sandra Feldman is president of the American Federation of Teachers, an organization that represents one million schoolteachers, school support staff, higher education faculty and staff, health care professionals and state and municipal employees.

Lisa Graham Keegan is chief executive of the Education Leaders Council, a national organization of reform-minded state education chiefs who oversee the education of more than 30 percent of the nation's public school students. In 1994 and again in 1998, Keegan was elected as Arizona's state superintendent of public instruction.

Frederick Hess is a resident scholar at the American Enterprise Institute and the author of several books on education reform.

David Hornbeck currently serves as a member of the Founding Council at Good Schools Pennsylvania organization. Hornbeck is a former superintendent of the Philadelphia, PA, public school system.

Tom Houlihan is the executive director of the Council of Chief State School Officers, a nationwide, nonprofit organization that represents the country's chief state school officers.

Gerry House is the president and chief executive officer of the Institute for Student Achievement. Previously, she served as school superintendent in Memphis TN and Chapel Hill NC. She has also been a teacher, junior and senior high school guidance counselor, principal and assistant superintendent. House was the recipient of the American Association of School Administrators' 1999 National Superintendent of the Year award.

Phyllis Hunter is an education consultant in Houston, Texas and a literacy consultant to President George W. Bush.

Sandy Kress is an attorney in Austin, Texas, a former member of the Dallas Independent School District board of trustees and an education advisor to President George W. Bush.

Sara Martinez Tucker is president of the Hispanic Scholarship Fund, the largest Hispanic scholarship-granting organization in the nation.

Ann Reynolds is currently president of the University of Alabama-Birmingham.

Ted Sanders is president of the Education Commission of the States, an interstate compact that helps state policymakers shape education policies.

Anthony Trujillo is a senior associate at the National Center on Education and the Economy. He was formerly superintendent of public schools in El Paso Ysleta School District in Texas and Marin County and Sweetwater Union High School District in California.