

2011 Eligible School Districts

- Albuquerque Public Schools, N.M.
- Arlington Independent School District, Texas
- Atlanta Public Schools, Ga.
- Austin Independent School District, Texas
- Baltimore City Public School System, Md.
- Boston Public Schools, Mass.
- Broward County School District, Fla.
- Caddo Public Schools District, La.
- Charleston County School District, S.C.
- Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, N.C.
- Chicago Public Schools, Ill.
- Clark County School District, Nev.
- Clayton County School System, Ga.
- Cleveland Metropolitan School District, Ohio
- Columbus Public Schools, Ohio
- Corona-Norco Unified School District, Calif.
- Cumberland County Schools, N.C.
- Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District, Texas
- Dallas Independent School District, Texas
- Dekalb County Public Schools, Ga.
- Denver Public Schools, Colo.
- Des Moines Public Schools, Iowa
- Detroit Public Schools, Mich.
- District of Columbia Public Schools, Washington, D.C.
- Duval County Public Schools, Fla.
- East Baton Rouge Parish School System, La.
- El Paso Independent School District, Texas
- Elk Grove Unified School District, Calif.
- Escambia County School District, Fla.
- Forsyth County Schools, N.C.,
- Fort Worth Independent School District, Texas
- Fresno Unified School District, Calif.
- Garden Grove Unified School District, Calif.
- Garland Independent School District, Texas
- Granite School District, Utah
- Guilford County Schools, N.C.
- Hamilton County Schools, Tenn.

- Houston Independent School District, Texas
- Illinois School District U-46, Ill.
- Indianapolis Public Schools, Ind.
- Jefferson County Public Schools, Ky.
- Jefferson Parish Public Schools, La.
- Long Beach Unified School District, Calif.
- Los Angeles Unified School District, Calif.
- Manatee County School District, Fla.
- Memphis City Schools, Tenn.
- Mesa Unified School District, Ariz.
- Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools, Tenn.
- Miami-Dade County Public Schools, Fla.
- Milwaukee Public Schools, Wis.
- Mobile County Public Schools, Ala.
- Montgomery County Public Schools, Md.
- Newark Public Schools, N.J.
- New York City Department of Education, N.Y.
- Norfolk Public Schools, Va.
- Northside Independent School District, Texas
- Oklahoma City Public Schools, Okla.
- Omaha Public Schools, Neb.
- Orange County Public Schools, Fla.
- Palm Beach County School District, Fla.
- Prince George's County Public Schools, Md.
- Saint Lucie County School District, Fla.
- Saint Paul Public Schools, Minn.
- San Antonio Independent School District, Texas
- San Bernardino City Unified School District, Calif.
- San Diego Unified School District, Calif.
- San Francisco Unified School District, Calif.
- Santa Ana Unified School District, Calif.
- School District of Hillsborough County, Fla.
- School District of Philadelphia, Pa.
- Socorro Independent School District, Texas
- Tucson Unified School District #1, Ariz.
- Tulsa Public Schools, Okla.
- Wichita Public Schools, Kan.
- Ysleta Independent School District, Texas

The 2011 Broad Prize: School District Eligibility Criteria

Districts cannot apply for The Broad Prize. To be eligible for The Broad Prize, school districts must meet certain criteria related to size, poverty and urbanicity. Winners from the previous three years are ineligible (in 2011, Gwinnett County Public Schools, Aldine Independent School District, and Brownsville Independent School District are ineligible). The eligibility criteria are:

- K-12 districts serving at least 37,500 students that have at least 40 percent of students eligible for free or reduced-price school lunch (FRSL), at least 40 percent of students from minority groups, and an urban designation (Locale Code 11, 12, or 21 in the Common Core of Data*). In states where more than 10 districts qualify under this criterion, only the 10 largest qualifying districts are eligible (69 districts met these criteria in 2011).
- In states with no districts meeting the criteria in the bullet point above, the next largest districts in the nation with at least 40 percent FRSL, at least 40 percent minority, and an urban designation, in order to bring the total number of eligible districts to 75. Only one district per state can qualify under this group of criteria (3 districts were included through these criteria in 2011**).
- Finalists for the 2010 Broad Prize who did not meet the above criteria (3 districts were included through this criterion***). Note: this eligibility will only apply in 2011.
- Winners from the previous three years are ineligible (currently, Gwinnett County Public Schools, Aldine Independent School District and Brownsville Independent School District).

*CCD locale code 11 represents a large city; code 12 represents a mid-size city; and code 21 represents a large suburb. Sable, J. (2008). Documentation to the NCES Common Core of Data Local Education Agency Universe Survey: School Year 2006-07 Version 1a (NCES 2009-301). National Center for Education Statistics, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education. Washington, D.C.

**These include Indianapolis, Indiana; Des Moines, Iowa; and Norfolk, Virginia

***These include Montgomery County Public Schools, Maryland; and Socorro and Ysleta Independent School Districts in Texas.