

School Districts Eligible for the 2008 Broad Prize

School districts cannot apply for The Broad Prize. To be eligible for The Broad Prize, districts must meet certain criteria related to size, poverty and urbanicity. Winners from the previous three years are ineligible (New York City Department of Education – 2007, Boston Public Schools – 2006, Norfolk Public Schools – 2005).

The following districts were eligible for the 2008 Broad Prize:

N.M.
Texas
Texas
Alaska
Texas
Ga.
Texas
Md.
Md.
Ala.
Conn.
Fla.
Texas
N.Y.
La.
S.C.
N.C.
Ill.
Ohio
Nev.
Ga.
Ohio
Ga.
Ohio
Texas
Texas

Ţ.

Newark Public Schools	N.J.
Northside Independent School District	Texas
Oakland Unified School District	Calif.
Oklahoma City Public Schools	Okla.
Omaha Public Schools	Neb.
Orange County Public Schools	Fla.
Pasadena Independent School District	Texas
Philadelphia City School District	Pa.
Pinellas County Schools	Fla.
Portland Public Schools	Ore.
Prince George's County Public Schools	Md.
Providence Public Schools	R.I.
Richardson Independent Public Schools	Texas
Riverside Unified School District	Calif.
Sacramento City Unified School District	Calif.
Saint Louis Public Schools	Mo.
Saint Lucie County School District	Fla.
Saint Paul Public Schools	Minn.
Salt Lake City School District	Utah
San Antonio Independent School District	Texas
San Bernardino City Unified School District	Calif.
San Diego Unified School District	Calif.
San Francisco Unified School District	Calif.
Santa Ana Unified School District	Calif.
School District of Palm Beach County	Fla.
Seattle Public Schools	Wash.
Socorro Independent School District	Texas
Stockton Unified School District	Calif.
Tucson Unified School District #1	Ariz.
Tulsa Public Schools	Okla.
United Independent School District	Texas
Wake County Public School System	N.C.
Wichita Public Schools	Kan.
Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools	N.C.
Ysleta Independent School District	Texas

The Broad Prize School District Eligibility Criteria

Districts cannot apply for The Broad Prize. To be eligible for The Broad Prize, school districts must meet certain criteria related to size, poverty and urbanicity. Winners from the previous three years are ineligible (New York City Department of Education, Boston Public Schools, Norfolk Public Schools). The eligibility criteria are:

- All K-12 districts serving more than 100,000 students
- All K-12 districts serving between 35,000 and 99,999 students and that have:
 - at least 40 percent of students eligible for Free or Reduced-Price School Lunch (FRSL)
 - at least 40 percent of student enrollment coming from minority groups and
 - an urban designation (Locale Code 1, 2, or 3 in the National Center for Education Statistics' Common Core of Data*)
- Any previous year finalist with at least 20,000 students and the largest urban district (Locale Code 1, 2 or 3) in states with no districts meeting the above criteria, as long as the district has at least 20,000 students and has either 40 percent FRSL or 40 percent minority.
- To complete the list of 100 districts, if needed, the largest urban district (Locale Code 1, 2, or 3) that has either 40 percent FRSL or 40 percent minority and is larger than 20,000 students.

*Locale Code 1 (Large City) represents a city with a population of 250,000 or more that is the central city in a Census Bureau Core Based Statistical Area (CBSA) or Consolidated Statistical Area (CSA). Locale Code 2 (Mid-size City) is a city with less than 250,000 people that nonetheless is a central city in a CBSA or CSA. Locale Code 3 (urban fringe of a large city) represents an area defined as urban by the Census Bureau falling within the CBSA or CSA of a large city. For example, Los Angeles Unified School District is a Code 1 district, Providence Public Schools is a Code 2 district and Garden Grove Unified School District is a Code 3 district.