

2011 Selection Jury

The Broad Prize selection jury, comprised of nationally prominent leaders from education, government, public service and business, chooses the winner of The Broad Prize. The selection jury reviews quantitative and qualitative data on each finalist school district, provided by MPR Associates and RMC Research Corporation, and selects the urban school district that demonstrates the best overall performance and improvement in student achievement while narrowing income and ethnic achievement gaps as the winner of The Broad Prize. This year's selection jury consisted of the following seven members:

Henry Cisneros

Executive Chairman, CityView

Henry Cisneros is executive chairman of CityView companies, which work with the nation's leading homebuilders to create homes for working families. Previously, Cisneros was president and chief operating officer of Univision Communications in Los Angeles, the largest Spanish-language media company in the nation. In 1993, he became President Bill Clinton's first secretary of housing and urban development. Cisneros became the first Hispanic mayor of a major U.S. city when he was elected mayor of San Antonio in 1981. During his four terms as mayor, Cisneros helped rebuild the city's economic base and created jobs through massive infrastructure and downtown improvements.

Susan Hockfield

President, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

The 16th president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a noted neuroscientist, Susan Hockfield is the first life scientist to lead the university. She also holds a faculty appointment as professor of neuroscience in the department of brain and cognitive sciences. Before assuming the presidency of MIT, she was provost at Yale University, where she taught and served as dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. Hockfield is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a director of the General Electric Company and the World Economic Forum Foundation, a trustee of the Carnegie Corporation of New York and the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, and an overseer of the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Shirley Ann Jackson

President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

The 18th president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Shirley Ann Jackson has held senior leadership positions in government, industry, research and academia. She was appointed chairwoman of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission by President Bill Clinton. From 1995 to 1999, she reorganized the agency and completely revamped its regulatory approach. Prior to that, she was a theoretical physicist at the former AT&T Bell Laboratories and a professor of theoretical physics at Rutgers University. In 2009, President Barack Obama appointed Jackson to serve on the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology, a 20-member advisory group dedicated to public policy.

Roderick Paige

Former U.S. Secretary of Education

Building on a long and distinguished career in public education, Roderick Paige was the first school superintendent to serve as U.S. secretary of education. During President George W. Bush's first term, Paige played a critical role in the passage and implementation of the historic No Child Left Behind legislation. Previously, he served as a member of the Houston board of education and then as superintendent of the Houston Independent School District. In 2001, he was named National Superintendent of the Year by the American Association of School Administrators. In 2002, he received the Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education. That same year, Houston won the inaugural Broad Prize. Prior to joining the Houston Independent School District, Paige served for a decade as dean of the College of Education at Texas Southern University, where he established the university's Center for Excellence in Urban Education. In his quest to improve the quality of education for all students, he is an active member of the boards of the Thomas B. Fordham Foundation, The Broad Foundations, the American College of Education, the New England College of Finance and Business, and the National Council on Economic Education's Commission on the Skills of the American Workforce.

Richard W. Riley

Partner, Nelson, Mullins, Riley & Scarborough LLP

Former U.S. Secretary of Education

Former Governor of South Carolina

Richard W. Riley is currently a partner in the law firm Nelson, Mullins, Riley & Scarborough. As governor of South Carolina from 1979 to 1987, Riley won national recognition for successfully improving the state's educational system. He became the first governor in South Carolina history to be elected to a second term after voters passed an amendment to the constitution allowing him to run a second time. Riley was then chosen by President Bill Clinton in 1992 to serve as U.S. secretary of education. During his eight-year tenure as education secretary, Riley helped launch historic initiatives to raise academic standards and improve instruction for poor and disadvantaged children. He also expanded grant and loan programs to help more Americans attend college, to prepare young people for the world of work and to improve teaching. Since leaving his national post in 2001, Riley has continued to serve on a number of boards and work with a variety of entities to improve education across America.

Margaret Spellings

President and CEO, Margaret Spellings and Company

Executive Vice President, National Chamber Foundation

Former U.S. Secretary of Education

Margaret Spellings is president and CEO of Margaret Spellings and Company and a leading national expert on public policy. Spellings also serves as a senior advisor to the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and as president of the U.S. Forum for Policy Innovation. From 2005 to 2009, she served as U.S. secretary of education under President George W. Bush. As a member of the president's Cabinet, Spellings led the implementation of the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB). She was White House domestic policy advisor from 2001 to 2005, during which time she managed the development of the president's domestic policy agenda. Prior to her service in the White House, Spellings served as senior advisor to then-Governor George W. Bush of Texas, led government relations efforts for the Texas Association of School boards, served in various leadership capacities for the Texas legislature, and worked for local education organizations including Austin Community College.

Andrew Stern

Senior Research Fellow, Georgetown Public Policy Institute President Emeritus, Service Employees International Union

Andrew Stern is a senior research fellow at the Georgetown Public Policy Institute, where he conducts and coordinates research on public policy issues. He is president emeritus of the Service Employees International Union (SEIU), the largest and fastest-growing labor union in America. The SEIU represents more than 2 million working members, including health care workers, education workers, and other public service employees, as well as building service and security workers.

The following leaders serve on The Broad Prize selection jury, but did not vote in the 2011 selection process:

James Hunt, Jr.

Chairman of the Board, James B. Hunt Jr. Institute for Educational Leadership and Policy Former Governor of North Carolina

Donna Shalala

President, University of Miami Former U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services

###