Media Contact
Swati Pandey, 310-954-5049,

$1 Million in Broad Prize Scholarships Awarded to 56 High School Seniors to Attend College

LOS ANGELES, May 20, 2014—The Eli and Edythe Broad Foundation announced today that it has awarded more than $1 million in Broad Prize college scholarships to 56 graduating high school seniors whose school districts were recognized last year as the most improved urban school districts in the country.

The scholarships were awarded to students in four districts that were finalists for the 2013 Broad (pronounced like “road”) Prize, the nation’s largest education award honoring large urban districts that have demonstrated the greatest overall performance and improvement in student achievement while reducing achievement gaps among income and ethnic groups.

The winner of the 2013 Broad Prize was the Houston Independent School District, which received $550,000 in scholarships. The three finalist districts that each received $150,000 in scholarships were the Corona-Norco Unified School District in Riverside County, California, the Cumberland County Schools in North Carolina, and the San Diego Unified School District in California.

“The students who receive Broad Prize scholarships demonstrate not only academic achievement but also the grit and determination it takes to get to college,” said Bruce Reed, president of The Broad Foundation, a national education philanthropy based in Los Angeles. “Just as their school districts have worked to improve outcomes for all students, these scholars have demonstrated that hard work pays off. We congratulate them for their accomplishments so far and look forward to their continued success in college and beyond.”

Unlike many traditional scholarships that are awarded only to straight-A students, Broad Prize scholarships are awarded to graduating seniors who have a demonstrated record of improving their grades during high school and have a financial need.

Broad Prize scholars receive two- or four-year scholarships depending on the type of institution they choose to attend. Scholarship recipients who enroll in four-year institutions receive $20,000 paid out over four years ($5,000 per year). Students who enroll in two-year institutions receive $5,000 scholarships paid out over two years ($2,500 per year). The scholarship selection and disbursement process is managed by Scholarship America.

A full list of this year’s scholarship recipients is below. Since the first Broad Prize was awarded in 2002, more than 1,200 students nationwide have been awarded college scholarships.

The winner of the 2014 Broad Prize will be announced by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan on Sept. 22 in New York City. This year’s finalists are Gwinnett County Public Schools in Georgia and Orange County Public Schools in Orlando, Florida. For the first time since 2002, only two districts are finalists, rather than four or five as in previous years.

Founded by entrepreneur Eli Broad and his wife Edythe, both graduates of Detroit Public Schools,
The Eli and Edythe Broad Foundation is a philanthropy that seeks to ensure that every student in an urban public school has the opportunity to succeed. Bringing together top education experts and practitioners, the foundation funds system-wide programs and policies that strengthen public schools by creating environments that allow good teachers to do great work and enable students of all backgrounds to learn and thrive. For more information, visit and Facebook and Twitter @broadfoundation. For more information about The Broad Prize, visit

The following 10 seniors from the Corona-Norco Unified School District were selected to receive Broad Prize scholarships:

Suzeth Almaraz Alarcon, Centennial High School
Erick Dearcos Favela, Santiago High School
Cameron Harris, Corona High School
Kimberly Hocknell, Norco High School
Jajuan Meeks, Norco High School
Melissa Mejia, Norco High School
Tahmarah Otoo, Santiago High School
Danielle Rumsey, Santiago High School
Miranda Vargas, Santiago High School
Kristen Vestesen, Norco High School

The following eight seniors from the Cumberland County Schools were selected to receive Broad Prize scholarships:

Kaely Churchill, South View High School
Jesus Gonzalez-Ventura, South View High School
Amber Jones, Jack Britt High School
Jodi Monroe, Terry Sanford High School
James Moore, Jack Britt Math Science and Technology Center
Rene Nunez-Jusino, South View High School
Aamir Ruffin, Terry Sanford High School
Felipe Silva, South View High School

The following 30 seniors from the Houston Independent School District were selected to receive Broad Prize scholarships:

Maria Acosta, Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice High School
Irwin Cazares, Davis High School
Jose Chavez Carballo, Eastwood Academy High School
Jennifer Cruz, Austin High School
Matthew Dinh, DeBakey High School for Health Professions
Alejandro Dolores, Challenge Early College High School
Elizabeth Donaciano, Davis High School
Jacob Echeverry, Lee High School
Angel Foster, Lee High School
Amarie Gipson, Yates High School
Terrence-Amir Glover, DeBakey High School for Health Professions
Jillian Greene, Bellaire High School
Jasmen Hernandez, Reagan High School
Jennifer Herrera, North Houston Early College High School
Jatauria Lathan, Yates High School
Jahwanza Lawford, Westside High School
Ana Llamas, Westside High School
Rene Maldonado, Wheatley High School
Traquan Minor, Worthing High School
Sandra Miranda, Milby High School
Alex Morales, Bellaire High School
Veronica Navarrete, East Early College High School
Ted Obi, DeBakey High School for Health Professions
Karina Orozco, Madison High School
Jaqueline Pena, Eastwood Academy High School
Gianna Reichardt, Chavez High School
Tae’Shon Rogers, Lamar High School
Dearbea Walker, Lamar High School
Patyana Wilsonm, Jones High School
Nazlia Yunus, Bellaire High School

The following eight seniors from the San Diego Unified School District were selected to receive Broad Prize scholarships:

Jake Brooks, Madison High School
Ari Krasner, University City High School
Nathanael Maracle, Point Loma High School
Linh Ngo, Madison High School
Dustin Nguyen, Crawford High School Educational Complex
Gerardo Perez, San Diego High School of Business and Leadership
Kevin Sibaja Allec, San Diego High School of Science and Technology
Tyler Wallake, San Diego School of Creative and Performing Arts

# # #

All press releasesPrevious Next